top of page

In 2006, Southern Maryland, Waldorf resident, Roberta Berry sought out members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., who were Charles County residents. As the search grew it became evident that the number of interested women spanned not only Charles County, but Calvert and St. Mary’s counties as well. Recognizing an increase in the minority population, a team of women came together to spearhead the chartering effort, along with Roberta were Dawn Chism, Elevear Johnson, and Wanda Noel. The team along with the other interested women were determined to explore the possibility of chartering a chapter in the Tri-County MD area.


As local Deltas learned about others who lived in and around Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties, the chartering team’s efforts resulted in the final move toward establishing a local sisterhood.


In August of 2010, Soror Elvear Johnson succumbed to her illness, but was fully aware of the strides of the chartering team to continue the work to charter a chapter serving the communities in the Tri-County MD area.


The chapter recognizes Soror Johnson as an honorary posthumous member.


On March 27, 2011, Tri-County (MD) Alumnae Chapter (TCMDAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered by twenty-one dynamic women, determined to make a difference in the community. The Chartering Ceremony was conducted by the Eastern Regional Director Robin M. Jacobs with the assistance of Eastern Regional Representative Denesia D. Parris. Deltas from many Chapters in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan area and Eastern Region came to participate, exuding the warmth of sisterhood that is very characteristic of the organization.

Charter Members

Screenshot 2023-06-09 at
bottom of page